Review: Van’s Bakery Ice Cream Macaron

img_1406

Photo by Christine Huynh

Macarons have gained much popularity over the years, with that comes much creativity. You can now find many stores and shops carrying ice cream macaron sandwiches! Over the weekend, I decided to write a review about one of my favorite ice cream macaron shops. I discovered this place before I started this website, and I have got to say, I’m never disappointed from their ice cream sandwiches.
Van’s Bakery originally sold homemade Vietnamese baked goodies. But in recent years, they added ice cream macarons to their menu. To much surprise, their delicious goodies has gained attention from those in nearby areas. They have almost 5,000 followers on Instagram
(which in fact was how I discovered them)!

img_1409

Photo by Christine Huynh

Interestingly enough, these yummy ice cream macarons are only sold from Friday to Sunday with their flavors changing daily. Some flavors they carry are: milk and cereal, cookies and cream, vanilla bean, amaretto, thai tea, jasmine, fruity pebbles, and many more! Both the macarons and ice cream are home made.
For my review, I decided to try the “milk and cereal” flavor. At first glance, the ice cream sandwich looked great. It was your average sized sandwich, not to small, not too big. It also had just enough ice cream to macaron ratio. It was beautifully packaged, with no cracks in the macaron patties at all.

After my first bite, I knew it was love. For the love of macarons, that is. The macaron shells were
tasted just right, with the crunchy crust but gooey middle. It wasn’t dry or too hard at all. The ice cream was perfect as well! The milk ice cream was creamy and not too sweet, which went perfectly with the cereal crumbles outside. On the board, it said that the crumbles were caramelized corn flakes – yum!

All in all, I was a happy girl. My usual go to flavors are green tea and thai tea. Be sure to check them out if you ever are in San Jose, CA! Check out their Instagram (@VansBakerySJ) before you go just so you know what flavors are available.

 

Van’s Bakery

1824 Tully Rd
San Jose, CA 95122

East San Jose

Drop some love on their Yelp page!

 

